The exact date this house situated at the southern end of Market Square was built is unknown but it is assumed that it was built between 1806 and 1821. The building boasts a Cape neo-classical pilaster front gable ornamented with an anchor and numerous stars the reason for which is unknown.
After changing hands several times the house was bought in 1912 by Herbert Urquhart MBE a former mayor of Graaff Reinet. The municipality bought the property from the Urquhart estate in 1964 and having been the residence of Urquhart for over 50 years it became known as “Urquhart House”. In 1990 the town council transferred ownership of the house and remaining portion of the garden to the Graaff Reinet Museum.
The house contains many fine examples of period furniture, bric a brac and a unique peach pip kitchen floor.
The Graaff-Reinet Museums are so understaffed that they cannot embark on genealogical research when visitors request immediate assistance. Please make an appointment well in advance (not the day before) so that we can arrange for someone to assist and give our undivided attention.